Miss Julie and Other Plays (Kobo eBook)

Miss Julie and Other Plays By August Strindberg Cover Image
Available Now


This collection of plays by Swedish playwright and writer, August Strindberg, are a testimony to his title as "the father of modern literature" in Sweden, as well as to his distinction as one of the most important playwrights of the 20th century. Beginning with two of his popular, early plays, "The Father" and "Miss Julie," this edition explores Strindberg's crucial transition from Naturalism to Modernism, concluding with "The Dance of Death," "A Dream Play," and "The Ghost Sonata." As an author unafraid of exploring new possibilities in dramatic fiction, Strindberg is noted for his psychological realism, blatant misogyny, symbolism, and his utterly fluid and subjective sequences of events. His works bore intense scrutiny in their time, but have since been recognized for the prodigious influence they exhibited not only in the Naturalist and Expressionist genres, but on modern theatre as a whole.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781420939439
Publisher: Digireads.com Publishing
Publication Date: December 14th, 2009