The Jake Show (Kobo eBook)

The Jake Show By Joshua S. Levy Cover Image
$8.99
Available Now

Description


In Joshua S. Levy’s hilarious and charming middle grade novel, a Jewish seventh grade boy is caught between the worlds of his divorced parents—with an orthodox mother and secular father, Jake must concoct a web of lies to go to a summer camp with his friends. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Erin Entrada Kelly. A Sydney Taylor Honor Book!

For TV-obsessed Jake Lightman, his parents’ divorce is like his favorite show getting canceled: The worst. Now he’s stuck between playing the role of “Yaakov” for his mother and “Jacob” for his father.

On Jake’s first day at a new school, Caleb and Tehilla barrel into his life. Suddenly, he has two friends who seem to like the real Jake. And when they invite him to Camp Gershoni for the summer, Jake knows he has to go—even if his parents won’t let him.

With help from Caleb and Tehilla, Jake concocts a web of lies to get to camp. But he struggles to keep up the ruse—and be a good friend at the same time. As the cost of lying grows, he must decide what’s truly important or risk losing the people he cares about the most.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9780063248212
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: May 22nd, 2023
Language: