Hel's Eight (Paperback)

Hel's Eight By Stark Holborn Cover Image
$16.95
Usually Arrives in 2-10 Days

Description


Ten Low and her ragtag comrades take on an ultra-rich tycoon who owns entire planets in this high-octane clash of law and lawlessness across the stars, for fans of Gideon the Ninth, Anne Leckie and Becky Chambers.

Who controls the future, controls it all...

Ten “Doc” Low is a medic with a dark past, riding the wastes of the desert moon Factus, dispensing medicine to the needy and death to those who cross the laws of the mysterious Seekers. Cursed by otherworldly forces, she stays alone to keep herself safe, and to keep others safe from her...

But when she experiences a terrifying vision of conflict and the deaths of those she once called friends, she must drag herself back to the land of the living to stop a war before it begins. With rebellion brewing, the Accord’s grip on the Outer Moons weakening and a sinister tycoon buying up all land in sight, Ten must find allies where she can and face the past in order to save the future. The cost will be greater than she could ever have imagined...

A wild, adrenaline-packed, whip-smart crash of storytelling and shoot-outs, ideal for fans of Becky Chambers' Wayfarers and Alex White's Salvagers.

About the Author


Stark Holborn is a novelist, games writer, film reviewer, and the author of Nunslinger and Triggernometry and has worked on games and interactive fiction such as Shadow of Doubt (Colepowered Games) and Mars 2020 (BBC). Stark lives in the South West UK.

Praise For…


"Holborn’s vision of the future is as stark and gritty as ever, leavened with flickers of hope and resilient friendships. Series fans and new readers alike will eat this up."—Publishers Weekly


"A real brutal tour de force, pulse pounding action and eye-opening ideas."—Adrian Tchaikovsky, award-winning author of 'Children of Time'


"Sharp, addictive, tightly-paced, with every word in the right place."—Joanne Harris, author of 'Chocolat', 'The Gospel of Loki' and many more


"Eerie, riveting, and scalpel-edged."—Max Gladstone, Hugo Award-winning author


"With scalpel-sharp prose, Holborn carves beauty out of a brutal world where possibilities are both a blessing and a weapon. For all the sand-blasted action and brawls against an unknowable terror, it’s ultimately the tale of a main character—a double-sided coin of grace and gruffness—on a journey for redemption. 'Hel’s Eight' holds all the grit of 'Mad Max: Fury Road' with a smoky mezcal chaser that lingers long after the final page."—Nathan Tavares, author of 'A Fractured Infinity'


"A gritty, transgressive cyberwestern adventure that feels like Sergio Leone crossed with Mad Max. Glorious!"—Paul Cornell, author of the 'Shadow Police' and Witches of Lychford series


PRAISE FOR STARK HOLBORN AND TEN LOW
I loved Ten Low. Combining the taut characterisation and clever wit of Stark Holborn’s spectacular Westerns with some splendidly inclusive and innovative sci-fi, this is a wonderful fusion of Firefly and Joanna Russ, with a Ennio Morricone soundtrack. – Joanne Harris, best-selling author of Chocolat, The Gospel of Loki and many more


Mad Max meets Firefly – and that’s awesome – Claire North, award-winning author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August


A fantastic, punchy SF action story, full of blood and grit and bitter pasts – Adrian Tchaikovsky, award-winning author of Children of Time, Dogs of War and many more.


Stark Holborn continues to impress. Great characters and a blistering pace – Gareth Powell, award-winning author of the Embers of War series


The future of space westerns, TEN LOW showed me the most vibrant desert world since Dune. A stunning blend of pulp and literary exploration leaves the old guard masters in the dust. – Alex White, author of the Salvagers trilogy


Stark Holborn's writing is clever, original and thrilling - R. J. Barker, author of The Bone Ships and Age of Assassins


An action-packed SF adventure with an intriguing majority female cast? OH, HELL YES! – Stina Leicht, author of Persephone Station


I loved this from beginning to end. There are furious fight-scenes, down-and-dirty characters and incredible world-building. Stark Holborn grabs you by the throat on page one and never lets you go! – Cavan Scott, bestselling and award-winning author


A gritty space western that fans of The Mandalorian should lap up.  As always, Stark Holborn makes us feel immediately for the characters to the point where we'll follow them through hell. And we do. – Paul Cornell, author of the Shadow Police and Witches of Lychford series


Holborn shows what a rich imagination she has – The Times


Packed with wildly memorable female characters and the pacey prose keeps things whip-cracking along. – SFX


Holborn has crafted a surprisingly cohesive, bad-ass space western full of adventure, tragedy and terror, that still manages to handle its mission with relentless fun. SciFi Now


This is a rich tale, an exciting story, told with admirable ease [...] the reader will remain glued to it. – British Fantasy Society


There is a great deal to admire and enjoy in this well-crafted story, with its terse present tense first protagonist. – Fantasy Hive


Ten Low delivers a fast-paced redemption story full of twists, clever ideas, and surprises. With its bleak but oh-so-cool setting and Low's haunting narration, it offers much to enjoy. Consider adding this book to your already sagging shelves - it deserves its place there. – Fantasy Book Critic


[A] hit, full force, with a lot of enjoyment. Top marks. – Swords and Spectres


Classic SF and yet fresh at the same time – a wonderful and heady mix – Peter Sutton Review


Ten Low is exactly the kind of story I hope to get when someone mentions Mad Max: Fury Road. A desert type of setting but with its unique touch, super rad gunfights / fighting scenes, non-stop action and amazing, morally-gray (queer) characters. I highly recommend reading this one. – Crini Review


Ten Low is the kind of book that has a lot more depth and character focus than you’d first think from the description, one that goes deep into some heavy themes, all whilst delivering an engaging and action packed character driven narrative. – Set the Tape


Recommended for fans of Mad Max, perhaps a bit of Stephen King’s Dark Tower but sci-fi, and yes of course Firefly. – Little Frog Scribbles


It was stunning; from the opening chapter to the final page. Gritty, intriguing sci-fi/ Western brilliance. – The Book Beard


If you want a pacey and punchy sci-fi, full of great friendships and a twisting story that will keep you guessing, I really recommend Ten Low! – Paperbacks and Pinot


The world is gritty and dry, and the action is plenty. – Susanna Reads


It's a genuinely gripping story, driven by action on almost every page and the kind of book that once picked up, you don't want to let go till you've finished. – Blue Book Balloon


Product Details
ISBN: 9781803362298
ISBN-10: 1803362294
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: March 28th, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English