Unlost: A journey of self-discovery and the healing power of the wild outdoors (Paperback)

Unlost: A journey of self-discovery and the healing power of the wild outdoors Cover Image
$11.99
Usually Arrives in 2-10 Days
This Book Not Available from Reach And Teach

Description


'Gail writes with humour, heart and passion.' Giovanna Fletcher, Sunday Times #1 bestselling author


Gail Muller was told she'd be in a wheelchair by the age of forty. At forty-one, she embarked on one of the world's toughest treks - The Appalachian Trail. An inspiring, uplifting and moving account of one woman's incredible journey into the unknown and how she reclaimed herself in the process.


As Gail took her first steps on the 2,200-mile trek through the wilderness of the USA, she had no idea what lay ahead of her, but she knew she felt burnout from city life, lost and broken - ready to heal a mind and body that she had battled with for so long.


From the resilience-building mountain climbs, painful injuries and harsh reality of braving the raw elements, to the unexpected friendships forged with other hikers and the kindness of strangers offering food and shelter - with every step, Gail started to let go of a past dominated by chronic pain and reconnected with herself in a way she'd never been able to before.


A love letter to the healing power of the wild outdoors and an incredible testament to the strength of the human spirit, Gail's story is for anyone who has ever felt stuck in a rut, lost or scared. She shows us that even in our darkest times, it's possible to find our inner grit, face our fears and feel hopeful.


Essential reading for fans of Cheryl Strayed's Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love.


Read what everyone is saying about Unlost:


'An amazing debut novel OMG ... I really loved your book And so glad that you made this journey ... I'm not a crier, but your last chapter had me almost in tears. So (wonderfully) emotional.' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'Muller's story is inspirational... her writing is warm and witty, and there were quite a few moments that made me snort or chuckle - or suck in my breath. I read the book in more or less a day - I just had to consume it... it was a joy to read a woman's take on it all, let alone a woman suffering a chronic condition so similar in ways to my own. This book does all it can to communicate to its reader that there is worth and joy to be found in pushing the boundaries we perceive around us.' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'Muller's brave journey is one of enlightenment, perseverance, and strength against all odds, a testament to pushing beyond the boundaries of what our physical bodies limit us. A Great Read ' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'As I was reading this book, I found myself holding my breath quite a few times, hoping that she was going to be all right... Gail put everything she went through in this book with such depth that I felt like I was right there with her.' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'Gave me pause to think outside the box. Was I missing out? Has all my stuff been distracting me from growing, living? I found her journey most encouraging and I was so proud of her accomplishments.' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



Product Details
ISBN: 9781800196841
ISBN-10: 1800196849
Publisher: Thread Books
Publication Date: September 7th, 2021
Pages: 352
Language: English