History Comics: Hip-Hop: The Beat of America (Hardcover)

History Comics: Hip-Hop: The Beat of America By Jarrett Williams Cover Image
$21.99
Usually Arrives in 2-10 Days

Description


MUSICAL REVOLUTION SWEEPS NATION AND BEYOND
How did a bunch of young people from the inner city create a genre of music that became a global phenomenon? From its humble origins at house parties in the Bronx, where DJs mixed old records to create new sounds, charismatic MCs let their clever lyrics flow, and B-boys and B-girls pioneered inventive dance moves, hip-hop quickly became a musical and cultural revolution.

Hip-Hop: The Beat of America

Meet Aaliyah, a hip-hop superfan who is about to get a lesson in all things “old school” courtesy of her dad, who grew up in the 1970s when rap music first hit the scene. The pair take a day trip to the Bronx where Aaliyah discovers the many unsung heroes who helped create the foundations of the hip-hop we all enjoy today. So get ready to drop the beat, bust a move, and get down with some fresh rap knowledge!

Perfect for readers of Can't Stop, Won't Stop and Nathan Hale's Hazardous tales.

About the Author


Jarrett Williams was born in New Orleans, LA. He attended the Savannah College of Art and Design (BFA & MFA in Sequential Art). He completed three volumes of his pro-wrestling/adventure series Super Pro K.O.! for Oni Press along with Rick & Morty monthly comics. He wrote and drew Rico Nasty: Nightmare Vacation for Z2 Comics. He is currently finishing the first of a three-book kids’ mystery graphic novel series called Harper Sharp for Random House Graphic. He loves classic JRPGs/anime and still draws his comics by hand.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781250795755
ISBN-10: 1250795753
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2024
Pages: 144
Language: English
Series: History Comics