Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth Cover Image
$7.99
Not Yet Published

Staff Reviews


What happens when you pick up a book and start chuckling right away, smiling ear to ear, so drawn in that you can't stop? You know you have a winner of a book! And... when you discover that it is just Book ONE in a series.... YIPPEEEE! Fans of Calvin and Hobbs will get a kick out of this series. We love it, especially for any reluctant reader in your life. And just to save you from saying it the wrong way, it is pronounced "High Low" (not like Hilo Hatties). 

— Reach And Teach

Description


An action-packed page turner with heart --Dav Pilkey, author of DOG MAN

Take off on an action packed adventure with HILO Book 1 Dog Man meets Big Nate in this hilarious New York Times bestselling graphic novel series that kids love

BOOM CLANG CRASH D.J. and Gina are totally ordinary kids. But Hilo isn't Hilo just fell out of the sky and doesn't know where he came from, or what he's doing on Earth. (Or why going to school in only your underwear is a BAD idea ) . . . But UH-OH, what if Hilo wasn't the only thing to fall to our planet? Can the trio unlock the secrets of Hilo's past? Can Hilo survive a day at school? Find out in HILO-a laugh-out-loud, epic story of friendship Adventure (And the occasionaly mutant space robot).

Here's what people (and robots ) are saying about Hilo
"More giant robotic ants and people going 'Aaaah ' than in the complete works of Jane Austen"--Neil Gaiman, bestselling author

"Every kid would love a pal like HILO, and every kid will love this book " --Lincoln Peirce, bestselling author of the Big Nate series

A perfect book for any kid who ever needed a friend and then had one with superpowers fall from space." --Seth Meyers, actor, comedian and writer

A story that can be enjoyed by the entire family.--The New York Times

A Total BLAST. --Miami Herald

* A wholeheartedly weird and wonderful tale of friendship, acceptance, and robots.--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

* A must-have.--School Library Journal, Starred Review

* A must-have.--School Library Journal, Starred Review

A story that can be enjoyed by the entire family.--The New York Times

My students are obsessed with this series. OBSESSED --Colby Sharp, teacher, blogger, and co-founder of Nerdy Bookclub

About the Author


JUDD WINICK grew up on Long Island, where he spent countless hours doodling, reading X-Men comics and the newspaper strip Bloom County, and watching Looney Tunes. Today, Judd lives in San Francisco with his wife, Pam Ling; their two kids; and their cat, Chaka. When Judd isn't collecting far more action figures and vinyl toys than a normal adult, he is a screenwriter and an award-winning cartoonist. Judd has written bestselling comic book series, including Batman, Green Lantern, Green Arrow, Justice League, and Star Wars, and was head writer on the Hulu network's animated series, The Awesomes. Judd also appeared as a cast member of MTV's The Real World: San Francisco and is the author of the highly acclaimed graphic novel Pedro and Me, about his Real World roommate and friend, AIDS activist Pedro Zamora. Visit Judd and Hilo online at www.juddwinick.com.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593483152
ISBN-10: 0593483154
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 19th, 2021
Pages: 208
Language: English
Series: Hilo