Bruno's Cookbook: Recipes and Traditions from a French Country Kitchen (Hardcover)

Bruno's Cookbook: Recipes and Traditions from a French Country Kitchen By Martin Walker, Julia Watson Cover Image
$40.00
Usually Arrives in 2-10 Days

Description


From the author of the internationally best-selling "Bruno, Chief of Police" series, comes a sumptuous French cookbook that immerses readers in the delectable countryside cuisine of Bruno’s beloved Périgord region, featuring favorite meals from Roasted Tomato Tapenade and Tarragon Chicken to A Most Indulgent Chocolate Cake.

Bruno Courrèges, the protagonist of Martin Walker’s internationally acclaimed mystery series, is not only the local police chief of the idyllic French village of St. Denis, but he also happens to be an impassioned amateur chef. In this delightful cookbook, the culinary and cultural inspiration behind Bruno’s fictional world comes to life. Featuring meals from the best-selling series, local recipes, charming anecdotes, and a history of the novels’ French setting, Bruno’s Cookbook invites readers into the bucolic life of Martin Walker and his wife, Julia Watson, and showcases their passion for the Périgord region’s rich cuisine.

Brimming with truffles and pâté, Bruno’s Cookbook features more than 90 recipes, including:

<ul type="disc">
  • Red Onion Tarte Tatin (Tarte Tatin aux oignons rouges) 
  • Gratin of Mussels with Parsley and Garlic (Gratin de moules) 
  • Duck Breast Fillets with Honey and Mustard (Aiguillettes de canard au miel et à la moutarde)  
  • Confit Potato Fries, Sarlat- Style (Pommes de terre à la sarladaises) 
  • Walnut Meringue Cake (Gâteau meringué aux noix) 
  • Homemade Blackcurrant Liqueur (Crème de cassis) 

  • Also included is a new Bruno short story, "The Question of Chabrol." A feast for the senses, Bruno’s Cookbook is a gorgeously illustrated edition that transports readers to France’s heartland.

    About the Author


    MARTIN WALKER, after a long career of working in international journalism and for think tanks, now gardens, cooks, explores vineyards, writes, travels, and has never been busier.

    JULIA WATSON is a journalist and novelist. She has written for United Press International, The Washington Post, and Gourmet magazine. The couple divide their time between Washington, D.C., and the Dordogne.

    Praise For…


    "Fans of Walker’s “Bruno, Chief of Police” mysteries know that these books are equal parts celebration of the food and culture of the Périgord region of France and cleverly constructed crime fiction. Now writing with his wife, Watson, Walker brings together more than 90 recipes for some of the favorite dishes of Bruno and his friends. . . . From walnut and green olive tapenade to Périgord quiche to “A Most Indulgent Chocolate Cake,” every recipe includes an entertaining introductory note and is written in an easily accessible style. The gorgeous color photographs not only splendidly illustrate the dishes but also help immerse readers in the southwestern corner of France. . . . . Written with a generous measure of culinary joie de vivre and a keen appreciation for the people and culture of Périgord, this captivating cookbook will charm fans of Walker’s long-running series as well as any cook wishing to explore the bountiful riches of French country cooking." —John Charles, Library Journal


    Product Details
    ISBN: 9780593321188
    ISBN-10: 0593321189
    Publisher: Knopf
    Publication Date: November 7th, 2023
    Pages: 272
    Language: English